Croatia within EUCroatia (official name: Republic of Croatia) is a European Union member, geographically located at the transition between Central and South Eastern Europe. It extends in the shape of a bow from the Danube riwer in the northeast to Cape Savudrija in Istria in the west and the Kotor Bay in the southeast. It is bordered on the north-west with Slovenia, in the north with Hungary, and Serbia to the East. Within its bow borders with Bosnia and Herzegovina, and in the extreme south with Montenegro. With Italy has a sea border. Croatia is located at the crossroads between Central Europe and the Mediterranean. Geographically Croatia covers an area that extends from the spacious Pannonian plain over a narrow area of the Dinaric Alps to the Adriatic coast. The inland therefore has the characteristics of moderate continental climate, while the Adriatic coast has those of the Mediterranean climate. With an average of 2600 sunshine hours per year the Adriatic coast is one of the sunniest in the Mediterranean, and the sea temperature in summer is 25°C to 27°C. The Croatian coastline is divided into the northern (Istria and Kvarner) and southern (Dalmatia), with well defined longitudinal divisions to island, coastal and hinterland. Croatian Adriatic coast is one of the most developed in the world: it has 1185 islands, islets and reefs, the total length of the coast 4058 km with 1777 km land coast. The largest island is Krk (405.7 km2), and the other bigger ones are Cres (405.2 km2), Brač (395 km2), Hvar (300 km2), Pag (285 km2) and Korčula (276 km2). The largest peninsulas are Istria and Pelješac.

Croatia has many natural beauties, and some of them are protected today either as National parks or Nature parks.

Important cities in Croatia are Zagreb (capital city), Split, Dubrovnik, Rijeka, Osijek, Zadar, Karlovac, Pula, Sisak, Knin, Gospić (capital of the largest Croatian county) Šibenik, Slavonski Brod, Mali Lošinj (the largest and most developed island town) and Vukovar (the largest river port in Croatia).